Update : Install problem was when I installed 9.2 over 9.1. When 9.2 was installed in a separate directory it worked fine.
Thanks for following up on this! I found the issue and fixed it.
You are not logged in. Please login or register.
Kinovea - Forums → Posts by joan
Update : Install problem was when I installed 9.2 over 9.1. When 9.2 was installed in a separate directory it worked fine.
Thanks for following up on this! I found the issue and fixed it.
(The following is for version 0.9.2)
When you add a line or other object you can right click it and select the menu Visibility > Always visible. This way it will stop fading out after a few frames.
If you are only interested in having lines that are always visible, you can go to Options > Preferences > Drawings > Opacity > Default opacity of new drawings and check the box saying "Visible for the entire video". Now new drawings will be always visible by default, although you can still customize the fading option on a per-drawing basis by going to each drawing visibility menu.
If you are interested in having a specific set of lines to appear every time you open a video, you could create these lines, save them in a KVA file through File > Save > Save only the annotations, and then save this file as "playback.kva" and copy it in the application data directory. This directory can be found from menu Help > Open log folder. This way every video will load the KVA annotation file upon opening.
edit: I forgot to mention, and this is new in version 0.9.2, if you add the line directly in the capture screen, a KVA file should be saved automatically when you capture the sequence, and will be reloaded when you replay it. In this case the objects added at capture time should already be in "Always visible" mode.
Also if you are interested in these capture-replay scenarios there is also a way to automate the capture/playback loop so you don't have to attend the computer each time. This is done using File > Open replay folder observer and point it to your capture target folder.
This is not possible at the moment. The Image > Deinterlace feature rebuilds a full frame from the fields.
Hi,
When you can see each camera independently but not at the same time it's usually an issue of bandwidth or current at the USB level. Both cameras are ending up on the same USB root hub and have to share the bus bandwidth. If your laptop has other USB ports try switching around to find ports that are on different USB root hubs. The device manager might be of help to know if you have several root hubs or a single one serving all the ports. Put them on USB 3 ports if you have any.
Regarding code signing, this is important and I will address it as soon as possible.
Unfortunately the only option that will fully get rid of the Windows defender SmartScreen filter is more than $300/year.
The standard validation is around $50 to $100/year but it will still show the warning and the user has to click on "More info" and bypass the warning for the system to trust the program.
Thanks for the sample.
Unfortunately it does look like the problem is in the files themselves.
I get similar duration with other tools, the main metadata are wrong:
Duration: 26:29:35.34, start: 13378.435000, bitrate: 0 kb/sI'm not sure what could cause this aside from a bug in the encoder in the camera. Does this camera work in "loop recording" mode like a dashcam, where it's constantly overwriting the same small file and it's only when it detects motion or you raise a special command that it splits the file to an indepedent one? I wonder if the duration could be the entire duration since the start of the loop recording process. Does it increase progressively after you restart the camera?
Since a few releases (since 0.8.27 I think) Kinovea tends to crash when I open H.265 videos from my Samsung NX-1 in full HD 1080p 120fps.
Could you send a small sample (<5MB) at joan at kinovea dot org please?
Also, would it be possible to extend the usable playback analysis mode memory in options to more than 1GB?
Ah damn, I forgot to change this… I agree this limit is ridiculous now.
Windows 10 did not like it because it was not signed. After downloading anyway got initial screen and then it crashed.
I couldn't reproduce this here on my machines. The crash is probably because the system has prevented the main program to load a DLL. I'm not sure what the short term solution to this is. I'll look again into code signing certificates for open source projects.
Hi,
Could you send a sample file that is exhibiting the problem at joan at kinovea dot org? (If it's larger than 5MB please host it on Google Drive or something because that mailbox has a small quota).
Thanks
This is Kinovea 0.9.3.
This version builds upon the previous improvements in the capture side of things and brings more usability tweaks for annotating videos.
Installer: Kinovea-0.9.3-x64.exe
Portable: Kinovea-0.9.3-x64.zip
Changelog: Changelog.0.9.3.txt
-------------------------------
Edit: this topic was originally created for version 0.9.2 but now links to version 0.9.3 of the installer and archive, fixing a few important issues that were found with 0.9.2. The description below lists the changes compared to version 0.9.1.
------------------------------
Many thanks to everyone reporting bugs and helping with the testing!
As always this post highlights the main updates, please check the changelog for a more exhaustive list.
1. Capture metadata and camera rotation
When capturing a camera Kinovea will now save a .KVA file alongside the recorded video. This file will be used by the player to read metadata that can't be saved in the file. In particular, timing information will be automatically "corrected" for high speed cameras, and the time origin (time "0") will be set to be the recording trigger event.
The camera screen now supports image rotation and this information will also be added to the captured videos. If you need to set your camera sideways or upside down this is now a fully supported scenario.
2. New capture mode: Retroactive
Up until now when capturing video from a camera, the frames were added to the output file on the fly, continuously, until recording was stopped. With the "Camera" recording mode the frames go straight from the camera to the file, in real time. With the "Delayed" recording mode the frames are taken from the delay buffer at the current delay.
The new recording mode leverages the delay buffer differently: it waits until the recording duration is reached and then copies all the frames from memory to the file in a single operation.
This approach is only workable if your final video fits entirely in memory. If you can work within this constraint this mode will be much more efficient and should allow you to take advantage of your camera's most hardcore settings.
To use this feature you can do the following:
In Options > Preferences > Recording > Recording mode and delay, check "Retroactive".
With this mode it is no longer necessary to use the "Record uncompressed video" option if you prefer not to.
Adjust the allocated memory to allow for the duration of your target video to fit entirely in memory.
Use the capture screen normally: start and stop recording manually or via audio trigger and automated max duration.
At the end of the recording period the camera will be paused for a bit while the program is actually exporting the video.
3. New Camera type: Daheng Imaging
Kinovea now supports a third type of machine vision cameras with the introduction of a module supporting Dahing Imaging cameras.
You can learn more about these cameras and check their specs at https://www.get-cameras.com/
Many thanks to get-cameras for providing a camera and technical support!

4. Lens distortion calibration
For videos that were recorded by cameras with a lot of lens distortion like GoPros, you can go to menu Tools > Camera calibration.
This dialog has been reworked to be interactive. Film a flat grid like a chessboard and play with the variables, especially distortion coefficients k1 and k2, to adjust the grid so that it matches the image.
This is obviously only an approximated fit but the idea is to make it much easier for anyone using these cameras to get decent measurements compared to not calibrating at all.

5. Linear coordinate system
The line-based coordinate system is now responding in real time to changes in the line used to calibrate it. This also means we can use this to define a rotated coordinate system without resorting to the quadrilateral calibration.

6. Drawings visibility
The option to control each drawing’s visibility independently from the others has been restored and enhanced. It’s now possible to setup the drawing so that it stays fully visible for a while before fading out.

Thanks!
Don't hesitate to post feedback, questions, feature requests and bug reports! You can do this either in this thread or create new dedicated threads.
Hi,
Yes, it's a bug. It will be fixed in the next version.
Hi,
The .kva file only contains the annotation data (drawings, tracks, comments, etc.).
You can think of it as a sidecar for your original video, or an enriched subtitle file.
When you save it it doesn't modify the original video file.
If you save it with a similar name as the original video (say video.mp4 and video.kva) and they are in the same folder, it will be loaded automatically when you reopen the video. If you save it with a different name or in a different place, you can load it into the video using menu File > Load annotations…
Sí, es muy probable que sea el mismo problema. Si es así, se arreglará en la próxima versión.
You can use the .zip version of the version you want to try out. After extracting the zip, it is a self-contained directory with the main program/libraries, and a special sub-directory named "AppData". This "AppData" directory contains all the preferences, the log, and any other files that would otherwise be shared machine-wide.
In this case you can have as many versions in parallel as you want, they will always work within their own directory and not interfere with each other. You could even copy this entire directory to a USB drive and use it on a different machine. This kind of approach is sometimes called "portable" version.
In the installed version (.exe), the "AppData" directory points to something like "C:\Users\joan\AppData\Roaming\Kinovea".
Hi!
1 - Side by side Sync;
the right hand screen vid does not sync on selected frame
Yes, it's a bug. It is fixed for the next version.
2 - Spreadsheet Export
I wish to share these comments via excel with athletes
Ah yes, the main use-case for this function is to export raw data so that further computations can be done in Excel/Calc, etc.
There were plans at some point for a richer export like maybe a PDF booklet with key images and comments but this isn't implemented right now.
The only way to share comments at this point is to share the .KVA file and for the recipient to load it back in Kinovea over the original video.
3 - Stopwatches - when I name a stopwatch the name does not appear on screen - or in the exported spreadsheets obviously.
Yep, it was an oversight, it's fixed in the next version.
4 - Speed Units etc..
it only displays speed in pixels (px/s)
Did you set up a calibration object? You need it for the program to relate pixels to real distances. Either with a line or a perspective grid, then right click > calibrate.
Kinovea - Forums → Posts by joan