I am an athletic coach that uses Kinovea with my students to enhance performance via video capture and review. (am using 8.15 w/ Win XP)  During a session with one of my students, I was making extensive use of the 2 capture screen capability to watch a movement via 2 angles being captured by 1) a camcorder with firewire connection and 2) a PS3Eye webcam utilizing USB. The student would perform 4 or 5 reps of the movement while watching himself on the capture screens. We would then stop and watch the recorded video. I noticed after about a half an hour of this that the live video capture was several seconds late with showing the movement on the screen. Also, when playing the later video back, it would change speeds (usually being too fast) when compared to real time. I have gone thru a few of the older posts on this subject and see others have had similar situations. My question is this:

what are the controlling factors in keeping the capture and subsequent playback as “fresh” (or real time) as possible?

Are there memory/space buffers that I can clear when I get into a session such as previously mentioned? If so, how would I do this? Also, I noticed that performance of both of the aforementioned recording devices was better when I had the camcorder as the first capture screen and the PS3Eye as the second capture screen.

Many thanks in advance for any feedback and many thanks to Joan for all the work done on a terrific product!

Thanks for the feedback, it's appreciated.
The issue with the file playing too fast has been addressed in version 0.8.16. Displaying the image and saving it to the file are now in two separate threads. Previously, the saving was done in the same thread, generally the time to process one captured image was longer than the capture interval.

Beware that 0.8.16 also has some regressions apparently (see announcement topic). I hope to get 0.8.17 out in the coming weeks.

Thank you, Joan.